Total 20 – Kompakt Celebrate 20 year anniversary


Total 20 – Kompakt Celebrate 20 year anniversary

We are very grateful and always look forward to receiving promos from Kompakt Records in our email inbox, sometimes because of our limited crew of staff, it is not always possible to feature some of their excellent releases.

The label released this special compilation last week and it is a testament to the quality it is already sold out on vinyl. Here is what they have to say about this momentous occasion reaching 20 years as a label in the techno world.

Two decades. Twenty years. Twenty compilations. Over 400 tracks. Over two days of total playing time and countless colored dots. If someone would have told us in 1999 when we put together TOTAL 1 that this would turn into one of the longest standing compilation series in the techno world we would have laughed out loud. But here we are – in the year 2020 which will probably go down in history as the most difficult period ever for club culture. But we won’t stop doing what we’re doing. Music is our oxygen. We’ll dance together soon again.

The TOTAL series has always been like KOMPAKT’s yearbook and to say it with the late Frank Sinatra: It was a very good year. Our family of artists delivered a strong heterogeneous mix of uplifting sounds, from the lush reveries of ROBAG WRUHME and SOELA to the stark primetime bangers of MARC ROMBOY or ANNA & KITTIN and everything in between. Notable new entries to our crew are the Londoner KIWI with his wonderfully careless “Hello Echo” that picks up the camp disco vibes Justus Köhncke made a staple in our repertoire. Amsterdam’s DAVID DOUGLAS delivers an appetizer for a full course meal. His quirky pop approach sits comfortably between fellow dutchmen WEVAL’s abstract beats and AGENTS OF TIME’s opulent Italo Disco. YOTAM AVNI blends Detroit techno with new age jazz that reminisces the sound of ECM artists like Jan Garbarek or John Surman. The man with the hat, KÖLSCH also picks up jazzier notes in his very own big room style. Youngblood JONATHAN KASPAR appears twice, fortifying his status as one of the hottest beatsmiths of our hometown Cologne. TOTAL wouldn’t be TOTAL without our permanent staff present in full force. As per tradition, KOMPAKT’s founding fathers, VOIGT & VOIGT, JÜRGEN PAAPE, JÖRG BURGER, MICHAEL MAYER as well as our Berlin outpost SASCHA FUNKE all deliver exclusive gems that also feature on Total 20’s double vinyl edition.

May TOTAL 20 become your trustworthy companion in these uncertain times.


Release date: 28th of August 2020
Artist: Various Artists
Title: Total 20
Format: 2xLP+DL / 2xCD / DIGITAL
Cat. no. – barcode:
Kompakt 420 – 4250101417344
Kompakt CD 160 – 4250101417436

Kompakt 20

Total 20 – Tracklist


A1 Jürgen Paape – Vox Acris
A2 Jörg Burger – Surprise Yourself!
B1 Michael Mayer – Agita
B2 David Douglas – Lose Control
C1 Sascha Funke – Atze
C2 Voigt & Voigt – Schopper Da Leu
D1 Jonathan Kaspar – Young
D2 Christian Nielsen – Blush (Vinyl/Digital Only)


1 Robag Wruhme – Calma Calma
2 Soela – White Becomes Black
3 Michael Mayer – Agita
4 Jürgen Paape – Vox Acris
5 David Douglas – Lose Control
6 Kiwi – Hello Echo
7 Sascha Funke – Atze
8 Jonathan Kaspar – Licht
9 Voigt & Voigt – Schopper Da Leu
10 Steve Moore – Frame Dragging
11 Weval – Doesn’t Do Anything (Silicon Mix)

1 Jörg Burger – Surprise Yourself!
2 Agents Of Time – Drive Me Crazy
3 Michael Mayer – Higher
4 Kölsch – Remind You
5 Jonathan Kaspar – Young
6 Enzo Elia, Aldebaran feat. Quique – Low Red
7 Yotam Avni – It Was What It Was (Album Version)
8 ANNA & KITTIN – Forever Ravers
9 Christian Nielsen – Gold
10 Marc Romboy – Stalker
11 Blackrachas – Giorno Di Pioggia

Kompakt Total 20 is available now in all download stores

For more Recommended Techno Albums:


You may also like...

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.